Skip to main content



The National Library of Uganda currently operates under the Ministry of Gender, Labour and Social Development.  It has a governing Board of nine members drawn from the Book Sector, Research Institutions, Cultural Institutions, and the Educational Sector. Thus, consists of a chairperson and eight other members appointed by the Minister. The members hold office for a period of three years and are eligible for re-appointment for one further term. The daily management of the National Library of Uganda is the responsibility of the Director assisted by a team of librarians and support staff.  It works closely with the Local Governments by giving them guidance and advice on the establishment and management of the public libraries.  It also works with communities and individuals wishing to establish community libraries.

Functions of the board

a) To establish, manage and maintain the National Library of Uganda.

b) To implement the functions of the National Library and

c) To put in place procedures for the collection, preservation, and use of the National Library collections.